Temple Bar London
The Gateway to the City of London
Commissioned by King Charles II, and designed by Sir Christopher Wren, the arch of Portland stone was constructed between 1669 and 1672 by Thomas Knight, the City Mason and Joshua Marshall, Master of the Masons’ Company.
Temple Bar Trust
Temple Bar, on Paternoster Square next to St Paul’s Cathedral, was designed by Sir Christopher Wren and completed in 1672. It was originally sited at the west end of Fleet Street and was re-erected in its present location in 2004. It is now the home of the Worshipful Company of Chartered Architects and an education centre, funded by the Corporation of London, for schools, visitors and the City community.
It is managed by Temple Bar Trust whose aim is to promote architecture in the City of London to a wider public audience through a regular programme of talks and tours. A key focus of the Trust’s work is supporting greater diversity in the profession.
The building also provides a unique space for meetings, dining and entertainment.